Course Description
Course Outline

The Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS) allows those who are already qualified lawyers in other jurisdictions to qualify as a solicitor of England and Wales without having to complete the full education and training requirements currently specified in the SRA Training Regulations. The scheme also applies to barristers qualified in England and Wales who have completed pupillage and want to qualify as a solicitor. The route to qualification is set out in the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme Regulations 2011. Kaplan is the authorised assessment provider for the SRA and accordingly Kaplan is not authorised to provide training courses preparing candidates to attempt the QLTS. To be admitted as a solicitor via the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme you must:

  1. be a qualified lawyer
  •  this means we have determined that your qualification as a lawyer:
  • gives you rights of audience;
  • makes you an officer of the court in the jurisdiction in which you have qualified; and
  • has been awarded as part of a generalist (non-specialist) legal education and training
  1. from a recognised jurisdiction: this means that you have qualified in a jurisdiction where:
  • to qualify as a lawyer specific education and training at least equivalent to that of an English and Welsh Bachelor’s degree has been completed;
  • members of the qualified lawyers’ profession are bound by an ethical code which requires them to act without conflict of interest and to respect their clients interests and confidentiality; and
  • qualified lawyers are subject to disciplinary sanctions for breach of the profession’s ethical code, including right to practise.
  1. meet SRA’s requirements for character and suitability. The SRA has a duty to consider the character and suitability of anyone who wishes to enter the profession, and must ensure that any individual admitted as a solicitor has, and maintains, the level of honesty, integrity and professionalism expected by the public and other stakeholders and professionals, and does not pose a risk to the public or profession. SRA assesses character and suitability issues against the criteria set out in their Suitability Test.
  1. successfully complete the QLTS assessments: the assessments assess the Day One Outcomes for solicitors.

The assessment will test the Day One Outcomes which set out the legal knowledge and skills which all solicitors must have at the point of qualification. There are two stages to the assessment:

  • the Multiple Choice Test (MCT): the MCT is a 6 hour 180 question test which assesses Part A of the Day One Outcomes.
  • the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)- this assesses part C, D and F of the Day One Outcomes. This means that the skills of interviewing, advocacy/oral presentations, legal research, legal drafting and legal writing in business, civil and criminal litigation, property and probate.

You must pass the MCT stage before you can progress onto the OSCE stage. All assessments take place in London and are usually available twice yearly. There is no requirement for candidates to provide separate evidence of their English language skills prior to registering for an assessment. However, you should ensure that the standard of your written, spoken, reading and listening English is appropriate for the assessment otherwise you are unlikely to pass. If you are an LPC graduate you are entitled to claim full exemption from the MCT. 

Questions? We've Got Answers.